• Book Awards

    Books are a big part of learning and expanding the mind.  As such, there are many awards both locally and nationally awarded to enriching literature. Read below for description of various awards and their newest nominees/winners!


    Building Block Picture Book Award (Grades Pre-K to K)

    The Missouri Building Block Picture Book Award, sponsored and selected by the Youth Services Community of Interest (YSCI), is presented annually to the author and illustrator of the picture book voted most popular by preschool children in Missouri’s public libraries and is designed to encourage reading aloud to children from birth through kindergarten age.

    The 2020-2021 nominees are...



     (Please note that clicking the images will take you outside of Lincoln County R-III website.)

    Show Me Reader Award (Grades 1-3)

     The purpose of the Show Me Readers Award is to promote literature, literacy, and reading in Missouri elementary schools for grades one through three and to promote recognition of authors and illustrators of books that are favorites of Missouri children in these grades.
    Students across Missouri must read or be read six of the 10 books and vote on their favorites.  MASL (Missouri Association of School Libraries) then grants the award to the book with the most votes. 
    The criteria for the selection of the Show Me Reader Nominees are as follows: 
    •    The book must be published in the US during the 2015 year with the author and illustrator living in the United States
    •    It must be a picture book which is easy to read aloud and contain strong literary value
    •    The book must interest and appeal to children 6 to 10 years old in grades one to three.
    The 2020-2021 nominees are:  

     (Please note that clicking on any picture will take you out of Lincoln County RIII's website)

    Mark Twain Reader Award (Grades 4-6)

    Missouri's Mark Twain Readers Award was enacted to give students a list of enriching literature.  Mark Twain Readers Award Nominees(12) are selected by librarians and volunteer readers.  Students across Missouri in grades 4 through 6  read at least 4 of the books and vote on their favorite.  MASL (Missouri Association of School Libraries) then bestows the award on the most voted for book and the process begins a new.  

    Nomination guidelines are as follows:

    • Books should interest children in grades four through six.
    • Books should be an original work written by an author living in the United States.
    • Books should be of literary value which may enrich children's personal lives.
    • Books should be published two years prior to nomination on a Master List of 12 nominees


    Voting guidelines:

    • Students must read 4 of the 12 nominees.  
    • Students may only vote for a book on the list that they have read.
    • Students may only vote once.


    AND THE 2020-2021 NOMINEES ARE...



                 (Please note that clicking on each book will take you outside of the Lincoln County R-III website.)  


     The Newbery Award


     The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

    The 2020 winner is:

    New Kid by Jerry Craft.



    The Caldecott Award 

    The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

    The 2020 winner is: The Undefeated. Written by Kwame Alexander and Illustrated by Kadir Nelson


     The Coretta Scott King Award

    The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.   


     The 2020 winner of the Coretta Scott King Author Award is : New Kid by Jerry Craft.  

    The 2020 winner of the Coretta Scott King Illustrator is : The Undefeated written by Kwame Alexander and Illustrated by Kadir Nelson





      The Pura Belpre Award

     The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

     The 2020 Belpre Author is: Sal and Gabi Break the Universe, written by Carlos Hernandez

     The 2020 Belpre Illustrator is: Dancing Hands: How Teresa Carreño Played the Piano for President Lincoln, illustrated by Rafael López, written by Margarita Engle


                     Dancing Hands




    (Theodor Suess) Geisel Award

    The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. 
     The 2020 winner is: Stop! Bot! written and illustrated by James Yang

    Stop! Bot! by