Return to Headlines

Teacher of the Year and STAR Employee Named for 2020

August 27, 2020

The District announced the 2020 Teacher of the Year and STAR Employee awards today with students and colleagues. 

This year's Teacher of the Year award recipient is Mr. Eric Blankenship, TBHS Band Director. The Teacher of the Year program began in 2017 with support from an LCR3 alumnus. The program was funded for 20 years and provides three finalists with $1,000 and one winner with $2,500 to support their District program of choice, and $2,500 for personal use. 

This year's finalists are MSE's Mrs. Melissa Skibinski and Mrs. Stephanie Harris and HPE's Mrs. Maggie Brown. 

The 2020 STAR Employee award went to Mrs. Beverly Wallis, NGC Education Office Professional (EOP). Finalists for this award included NGC's Ms. Tina Varvera, TBHS' Ms. Ruthie Wing, and Transporation's Mr. Albert Wiss. 

Nominees in both programs are peer-nominated. 


The Shoot for the Moon Award 

The District is proud to celebrate our Instructional Coaches! These eight ladies were presented with the Shoot for the Moon Award. This award is presented annually to individuals tasked with implementing instructional programs that exemplify the District’s mission and go above and beyond to serve students.
The literacy coaches and math coaches at LCR3 give supports to teachers regarding best practices in the areas of literacy and math. Their work encourages teachers to examine instructional time in new ways in order to maximize learning for all students. They plan with teachers, co-teach, model, and reflect with teachers in the coaching cycle to ensure best practices are used in the classroom.
Our coaches are:
Jaime Carroz
Tara Behymer
Natalie Cook
Emily Culbertson
Courtney Rhodes
Christina Ryan
Susan Wood
Kirsten Wright

Congratulations to all nominees and recipients!