Return to Headlines

2nd Annual LCR3 STEM Challenge

March 18, 2021

On Monday of this week, the District hosted the 2nd Annual STEM Challenge for K-8 students. 

This challenge begins in February at the classroom level. Classroom winners advance to compete at the school level, and then school level winners advance to the District level competition to compete against other groups in their age group. 

At each level, the age-appropriate challenges take 15-20 minutes to complete and involve STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) aspects. For example, second-grade students are given a scenario where they are asked to build the tallest structure possible with a specific list of materials including pipe cleaners, paper, cardboard, and tape. The tallest free-standing tower wins (photo attached)! 

The list of all winners, by grade, is below. 

1st – CBE: Tyson Piland & Rylynn Farmer
2nd – WCE: Genevieve Roberts
3rd – BE: Sophia Dandois, Nate (Nathaniel) Yoder, Blake Allsberry
1st – CBE: Makenzie Workman & Charlotte Garcia
2nd – CPE: Camrie Gabbert
3rd – WCE: Evelin Groeblinghoff, Angelina Barrow, Annebel Brandwein
1st – LE: Reese Kulp, Aubrey Riebel, Henry Calvin, Jillian Reeves, Sawyer Barks
2nd – CPE: Elizabeth Lester, Sawyer Wheelehan, Ellie (Elliana) Ratcliff
3rd – CBE: Olivia Davis, Aiden Cain, Hailey Baldwin
1st – CPE: Braxton Sonnenberg, Daniel Krieg, Owen Johnson
2nd – CBE: Ben (Benjamin) Smerz, Tegan Schreck, Jackson Lawson, Neveah Colvin
3rd – WCE: Quinton Speer, Carina Slayton, Lillian Cooper
1st – CBE: Jackson Colbert, Reese Parker, Cooper Knipping, Kash Hess
2nd – WCE: Owen Winterhalter, Blake Uhrhan, Gabi (Gabriella) Muratori
3rd – HPE: Lyla Giesmann, Kat (Katiana) Salyers, Jaxon Henebry, Lane Crader
1st – MSE: Mandy Yang, Cailyn Vickrey, Amberlynn Steelman
2nd – CPE: Emily Pillow, Nora File, Haleigh Pennock, Aurie Yates
3rd – LE: Conrad Paxton, Xander Mashek, Dylan Schulte
1st – TMS: Mackenzie Anderson, Samantha Dennis, Lilianne Safford
2nd – NO ENTRY SO – Mrs. Fessenden, Dr. Briscoe, Mrs. Higgins
1st – TSMS: Landen Jacobs, Tyler Ferguson, Carter Lockey, Reid Lorenz
2nd – TMS: Harley Little, Shayla Witt, Alayna Pugh
1st – TSMS: Anna Gabel, Alexah Wolfe, Rileigh Peters
2nd – TMS: Emma Bergesch, Kaylee Colbert, Nevaeh Dickson, Pauline Daniels